I’m back.

Hey y’all.

So, it has been four years.

Four years since I’ve written a post for this blog or even signed in to it.

That’s a damn shame. I really felt like I was gaining some momentum right around the time I stopped. I can’t put a finger on WHY I stopped, exactly – just – life, I suppose.

I was in a bad way, professionally, back then. I liked what I did (proposal writing and sourcing) but the company was terrible. Its turnover rate can speak for itself. Not feeling like part of a robust, dynamic work team has always been hard for me, and I took it particularly hard there.

So I quit that job and immediately started a three-year contract position at a telecom giant, doing content management. Back then (December 2013) I’d say I was probably hovering around 150 pounds – I could still fit into my size 8 dress suit on my first day at said telecom giant. The work at that contract position was pretty all-consuming, and the commute exhausting until I started working from home about a year into the contract.

In October 2014, I had a cervical spine fusion surgery of my neck and a few months later my husband and I bought our first house. Pepper in there some major personal flaps with old friends and you have a recipe for neglecting one of the things you truly love in life – writing.

Anyone who has ever bought a house – especially an older one, as we did – knows your life begins to revolve around paint swatches and furniture and, here in Texas, attempting to maintain/save grass and garden life.

Fast forward to March 2016, when I had my much, much, much, much long-awaited breast reduction. As in, I’ve wanted one since I was 15 or 16 years old. Due to the neck surgery I was able to have it medically necessitated and I am happy to report I’m now hanging with the B cups.

Between the cervical spine surgery of 2014 and my breast reduction in early 2016, I really packed on the pounds, kiddos. I dunno if I went to a dark place there with the whole friend drama (involved a few women, all once very close, good, personal friends, really tearing out my heart individually), or if working from home made me lazy and out of touch with the weight I was gaining – probably a lot of factors. I will say that when you’re working from home, you tend to wear sweat pants or PJs a lot (at least I do) and those don’t exactly clue you in that you’re packin’ on the lbs.

So, I’m not proud to say that about a year ago, I weighed in at 189 lbs. at a weight-loss clinic. As part of whatever I was going through (described in above paragraph), I’d become pretty reclusive and was rarely in photos. During one friend’s visit here to Dallas, I saw myself in one of her photos and was astonished – hence the visit to the weight-loss clinic.

Weight loss throughout the last year has happened, but not easily. It got a bit easier after my breast reduction because I picked up running, but even running 4-6 miles a day and watching my calories wasn’t working. THEN I needed lumbar surgery (I’m three weeks post-op right now). Laid up again.

I’ve been hovering between 154-163 lbs. for a few months now.

So, a new approach is needed for when I’m up and ready to hit the gym. I’m working on some ideas right now (thanks, Pinterest!) and hope to share them with you in the coming weeks.

Meanwhile, my husband – who also had lumbar surgery (not as intense as mine, but a bear nonetheless) – has been more active lately than he has in years, and really sticking to a set diet (21-day fix) and seeing results. He’s an inspiration and I look forward to following in the recovery path he’s set.

I hope you’ll all welcome me back, share this blog, comment, and keep coming back to share in my story AND share yours.

Thanks for reading, and good luck out there! Stay strong and healthy!

-Ang

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m back.

Leave a Reply

